SOC, or “System and Organizations Controls”, is a set of standards designed to measure how well an organization regulates and protects its information. The purpose of SOC standards is to ensure that data is safeguarded and accessible only to those who are authorized to view it. 

Because these standards are an essential part of business management, it is important that organizations are aware of what SOC requirements they need to meet—and who should be meeting them.

What is SOC Certification?

An organization that has been SOC-certified is one that has been audited by an independent third party and found to have met the standards for security, availability, processing integrity, and confidentiality. 

The three different types of SOC certifications (SOC 1, 2, and 3) each have increasingly more requirements that need to be met in order for an organization to get certified.

SOC 1, 2, & 3

The three levels of SOC certification require a service organization to properly regulate its data and interactions with clients. Each level indicates a difference in the certification and the intended audience.

  • SOC 1: Reports on the organization’s controls related to the financial reporting of clients.
  • SOC 2: Building on the reporting basis of SOC 1, level 2 requires standards for organizational oversight, vendor management, IT security, risk assessment, availability of data, and continuity in the event of a disaster.
  • SOC 3: This type of certification acts as a public report to third parties interested in knowing the level of security that an organization has in place. A more simplified version of SOC 2, this level is good for businesses with fewer regulatory oversight issues.

Who Needs to Worry About SOC Certification?

Businesses that provide B2B services or those offering SaaS (Software as a Service) should always be aware of the SOC requirements that are needed in order to maintain security and protect their clients’ data. The following types of businesses and organizations should make SOC certification a priority:

  • Financial institutions
  • Cloud services providers
  • Healthcare organizations
  • Insurance companies
  • Retailers & eCommerce businesses

INSC: Your Certified SOC 2 Partner

At Innovative Network Solutions, we are proud to be a leading MSP (Managed Service Provider) and hold a SOC 2 Type 1 certification. This means that we have passed the rigorous audit process to ensure that our data is secure, available, and confidential. 

We take the security of your business seriously and are committed to providing you with a safe and reliable IT environment.

Let INSC Help You Today 

SOC certification is important for businesses that offer services to other businesses, so it’s important to make sure you’re up-to-date on all of the latest requirements. At INSC, our team is dedicated to providing superior solutions in an effort to make your business more secure and better equipped for success. 

Whether it’s cloud computing, cyber-security, or compliance management; INSC can help you achieve your goals through comprehensive support services. Contact us today for more information or to get started.